News Release State Judicial Nominating Commission July 14, 2023

Contact: Janece Valentine, Chair of the State Judicial Nominating Commission; 515-955-5544; jvalentine@Valentinelaw.net

Five Nominees Chosen for Iowa Court of Appeals Vacancy

Sixteen lowans applied with the State Judicial Nominating Commission to fill the vacancy on the Iowa Court of Appeals arising from the retirement of Judge Anuradha Vaitheswaran.

The nominating commission met Friday, July 14, 2023, to interview the applicants for the vacancy. Following the interviews, the commission deliberated and selected a slate of five nominees from the group of applicants and delivered the slate to the Governor. The nominees selected are:

Judge Jeffrey Bert, Bettendorf

Judge Jeffrey Farrell, Urbandale

Samuel Langholz, Ankeny

Judge Amy Moore, Ames

Heather Quick, Cedar Rapids

The governor has thirty (30) days in which to appoint the new judge.

The 17-member commission is composed of eight commissioners elected by lawyers licensed to practice law in Iowa, and nine commissioners appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Iowa Senate. The names of the commissioners are on the Iowa Judicial Nominating Commissions website.