

Laura Belin laurarbelin@bleedingheartland.com

RELEASE: Reynolds Administration has announced staff changes

Press Releases from Iowa Governor's Office <lowaGovernorsOffice@public.govdelivery.com>Fri, Sep 10, 2021 at 4:28 PM Reply-To: IowaGovernorsOffice@public.govdelivery.com
To: desmoinesdem@bleedingheartland.com

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR Governor Kim Reynolds ★Lt. Governor Adam Gregg

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday Sept. 9, 2021

CONTACT: Alex Murphy, (515) 802-0986 Alex.Murphy@Governor.lowa.Gov

Reynolds Administration has announced staff changes

DES MOINES - Today the Reynolds Administration has announced staff changes.

Below is a list of new staff and their new role:

Stephanie Groen, will now serve as the Governor's Deputy Chief of Staff. She assumes the role following the departure of Paige Thorson. Stephanie was previously the governor's federal liaison.

Alex Murphy, will serve as the Governor's new Communications Director. He assumes the role following the departure of Pat Garrett, who is leaving to join Governor Reynolds' Political Team. Alex previously served as the Communications Director for the Iowa DNR.

Molly Severn, will now serve as the Governor's Legislative Liaison and Education Policy Advisor, she assumes that role following the departure of Logan Shine.

Meaghan O'Brien, will now serve as the Governor's Director of State-Federal Relations, based out of Washington D.C. She assumes that role following the vacancy created by Stephanie Groen. She previously served on the Governor's policy team.

Patrick Tomka, will now serve as the Governor's Senior Tax and Economic Policy Advisor, he assumes that role following the departure of Joel Anderson, who is now serving as the Interim Director of the Department of Management. He previously served as the Senior Associate Athletics Director for Drake University.

Clare Kelly, will serve as the Governor's Health Care Policy Advisor, she assumes that role following the departure of Liz Matney, who is now serving as the Governor's Medicaid Director. She previously served as Executive Vice President and CEO of the Iowa Medical Society.

"Over the last two years, we've faced a pandemic, a derecho, civil unrest, and more. Being surrounded by an exceptional team has been more important than ever. I want to thank Paige and Pat for everything they've done. Paige has done an outstanding job as Deputy Chief of Staff and head of policy. We know that she has an incredible career ahead of her," said Gov. Reynolds. "Pat played an important role on my communications team and I know he'll excel in his future roles."

"I am proud to lead a team that has continually put lowans at the center of our decisions. That's how we will ensure lowa continues to be the best place to live, work, and raise a family, " said Gov. Reynolds.

Current Reynolds Staff:

Sara Craig Gongol, Chief of Staff Taryn Frideres, Chief Operating Officer Stephanie Groen, Deputy Chief of Staff Heather Nahas, Public Relations Manager Alex Murphy, Communications Director Damian Bell, Communications Advisor and Chief Speechwriter Michael Boal, Senior Legal Counsel Nick Davis, Deputy Legal Counsel Megan Hall, Director of Boards and Commissions and Legal Assistant Molly Foley, Legislative Liaison and Education Policy Advisor Nate Ristow, Workforce Policy Advisor Jake Swanson, Agriculture Policy Advisor Patrick Tomka, Senior Tax and Economic Policy Advisor Clare Kelly, Health Policy Advisor Meaghan O'Brien, Director of State-Federal Relations Anna Hartzog, Constituent Services Director and Intern Coordinator William de Blois, Constituent Services Liaison and Policy Assistant Ryan Capps, Executive Scheduler Alex Brynes, Executive Assistant to the Governor John Hirl, Executive Assistant to the Lt. Governor

###

Stay Connected with the Office of the Governor of Iowa:



Manage Subscriptions | Help

This email was sent to desmoinesdem@bleedingheartland.com using GovDelivery Communications Cloud on behalf of: State of $lowa \cdot 1007$ E Grand Ave · Des Moines, IA 50319

