

Laura Belin <laurarbelin@bleedingheartland.com>

## **RELEASE:** Gov. Reynolds Announces Staff Changes

**Press Releases from Iowa Governor's Office** <lowaGovernorsOffice@public.govdelivery.com>Fri, Aug 18, 2023 at 5:53 PM Reply-To: IowaGovernorsOffice@public.govdelivery.com To: desmoinesdem@bleedingheartland.com

## OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR Governor Kim Reynolds ★ Lt. Governor Adam Gregg

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, August 18, 2023 CONTACT: Kollin Crompton, (515) 745-2840, Kollin.Crompton@Governor.lowa.gov

## Gov. Reynolds Announces Staff Changes

DES MOINES – Gov. Reynolds today announced that Dax Oberreuter will join her administration as policy advisor for health care and veteran's affairs. Oberreuter most recently served as legislative liaison at the lowa Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). He previously held the same position for the lowa Department on Aging and served as the agency's public information officer and planning and innovation administrator. He holds a Master of Business Administration degree from the University of Iowa. The position was previously held by Clare Kelly who is leaving the Office of the Governor to become the chief advocacy officer for the Iowa Hospital Association.

"Dax's experience at Health and Human Services and the Department on Aging, and the well-established relationships he has across state government and with key stakeholders make him a tremendous asset to my team, and I look forward to working with him," stated Gov. Reynolds. "I also want to express my gratitude to Clare for her incredible work over the last two years. I wish her the very best in her new role."

The governor has also hired Kate Schreier to serve as constituent services liaison. Schreier graduated from Iowa State University in May 2023, and previously served in the governor's office as a constituent services intern.

Position changes are also occurring among current staff members: Megan Hall, previously boards and commissions director, is now paralegal; and Townsand Ayers, previously constituent services liaison, is now boards and commissions director.

A complete list of Governor's Office staff is listed below:

Taryn Frideres – Chief of Staff Jacob Nicholson – Chief Operating Officer Molly Severn – Deputy Chief of Staff & Legislative Liaison Steven Blankinship – Senior Legal Counsel Heather Nahas – Communications Director Nate Ristow – Administrative Rules Coordinator Patrick Tomka – Senior Tax & Economic Policy Advisor Jane Dufoe – Education Policy Advisor Dax Oberreuter – Health Care & Veteran's Affairs Policy Advisor Laura Book – Workforce & Public Safety Policy Advisor Lillie Brady – Agriculture & Energy Policy Advisor Ryan Capps – Senior Advisor Megan Hall – Paralegal Kollin Crompton – Deputy Communications Director Damian Bell – Chief Speechwriter & Communications Advisor Eric Baker – Director of Strategic Operations & Director of the Office for State-Federal Relations Townsand Ayers – Boards & Commissions Director Morgan Fritz – Special Assistant to the Lieutenant Governor Annie Hayes – Executive Assistant to the Governor Anna Hartzog – Constituent Services Director Kate Schreier – Constituent Services Liaison

###

Stay Connected with the Office of the Governor of Iowa:



Manage Subscriptions | Help

This email was sent to desmoinesdem@bleedingheartland.com using GovDelivery Communications Cloud on behalf of: State of Iowa · 1007 E Grand Ave · Des Moines, IA 50319

